Peace History Society

Officers and Board
 PHS Conferences
Peace and Change
PHS News
Elise M. Boulding Prize

DeBenedetti Prize

Scott Bills Memorial Prize

Lifetime Award

Founders Award

  Other Resources on the Web
Announcements of Conferences, etc. of Interest to Peace Historians

PHS Photograph Archive

PHS History

PHS Bylaws


Scott BillsScott Bills Memorial Prize

The Peace History Society will award the Scott Bills Memorial Prize bi-annually (in odd years) for an outstanding English-language work in the field of Peace History. The Prize will be awarded for an outstanding first book or an outstanding dissertation by a faculty member or independent scholar completed in 2012 or 2013. The Prize carries a cash award of $500.

The Peace History Society is now accepting nominations (including self-nominations) for the Scott Bills Memorial Prize. Please submit nominations (a brief statement will suffice) and one copy of the book or dissertation directly to each member of the Bills Prize Committee no later than June 1, 2015. The Scott Bills Memorial Prize winner will be officially announced at the 2015 PHS national conference, October 22-24, University of Saint Joseph, CT.

Scott H. Bennett (PHS Vice President)
333 Woodland Ave.
Haddonfield, NJ 08033

Deborah Buffton (PHS Board Member)
University of Wisconsin--Lacrosse

Michael Clinton (Peace & Change review editor)
Gwynedd Mercy University
1325 Sumneytown Pike
Gwynedd Valley, PA 19437

Previous award recipients:

2010-11: Nicholas Krehbiel, General Lewis B. Hershey and Conscientious Objection during World War II (Columbia, Missouri:  University of Missouri Press, 2011).

2008-09: Ross A. Kennedy, The Will to Believe: Woodrow Wilson, World War I, and America's Strategy for Peace and Security (Kent State University Press, 2009).

2006-07: Wesley Hogan, Many Minds, One Heart: SNCC's Dream for a New America (Univ. of North Carolina Press, 2007).

2003-05: Michael S. Foley, Confronting the War Machine: Draft Resistance During the Vietnam War (Univ. of North Carolina Press, 2003).

PHS hopes to make the Bills Memorial Prize a self-perpetuating endowment.  You may make an online donation to this fund in memory of Scott Bills at
Questions or comments to the web editor.