Peace History Society

Officers and Board
 PHS Conferences
Peace and Change
Peace and Change blog
PHS Newsletter
Elise M. Boulding Prize

DeBenedetti Prize

Scott Bills Memorial Prize

Lifetime Award

  Other Resources on the Web
Announcements of Conferences, etc. of Interest to Peace Historians

PHS Photograph Archive

PHS History

PHS Bylaws


Scott BillsScott Bills Memorial Prize in Peace History

The Peace History Society invites nominations (including self-nominations) for the Scott Bills Memorial Prize for a first book or a dissertation in English completed in 2020 or 2021 on a topic related to peace history. The Prize, awarded biennially, carries a cash award of $500.

Previous award recipients:

2018-19: No award granted

2016-17: Nan Kim, Memory, Reconciliation, and Reunions in South Korea: Crossing the Divide (Rowman & Littlefield, 2016).

2014-15: Leilah Danielson, American Gandhi : A. J. Muste and the history of radicalism in the twentieth century (Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 2014).

2012-13: Gearóid Barry, The disarmament of hatred : Marc Sangnier, French Catholicism and the legacy of the First World War, 1914-45 (Houndmills, Basingstoke, Hampshire; New York, NY: Palgrave Macmillan, 2012).

2010-11: Nicholas Krehbiel, General Lewis B. Hershey and Conscientious Objection during World War II (Columbia, Missouri: University of Missouri Press, 2011).

2008-09: Ross A. Kennedy, The Will to Believe: Woodrow Wilson, World War I, and America's Strategy for Peace and Security (Kent State University Press, 2009).

2006-07: Wesley Hogan, Many Minds, One Heart: SNCC's Dream for a New America (Univ. of North Carolina Press, 2007).

2003-05: Michael S. Foley, Confronting the War Machine: Draft Resistance During the Vietnam War (Univ. of North Carolina Press, 2003).

PHS hopes to make the Bills Memorial Prize a self-perpetuating endowment.  You may make an online donation to this fund in memory of Scott Bills at
Questions or comments to the web editor.