Peace History Society

Officers and Board
 PHS Conferences
Peace and Change
Peace and Change blog
PHS Newsletter
Elise M. Boulding Prize

DeBenedetti Prize

Scott Bills Memorial Prize

Lifetime Achievement Award

  Other Resources on the Web
Announcements of Conferences, etc. of Interest to Peace Historians

PHS Photograph Archive

PHS History

PHS Bylaws


PHS News from the President - March 2013

1. New Officers and Board Members

I am happy to inform you of the results of our elections for Peace History Society officers for 2013-2014, and of our elections for PHS board members for 2013-2016.

The president is Christy Snider, the vice president is Kevin Callahan, and the secretary is Marian Mollin. David Hostetter continues in his position as treasurer.

Our newly elected board members are: Kathleen Kennedy, Harriet Alonso, Andrew Barbero, Sandi Cooper, Robert Shaffer, and Christopher Fletcher. In addition, E. Timothy Smith has agreed to serve the final three years of Kevin Callahan’s board term.

2. Renewals

Renewal notices went out in early January. If you haven’t yet renewed your membership you may take care of it online at: .

3. Peace & Change

We hope you enjoyed the new cover for the January 2013 issue of Peace & Change. This is the first redesign for the journal in over a decade. If you have not been receiving the journal or you need to change your mailing address, please email me at and I’ll update the database.

4. 2013 Conference

The 2013 PHS conference, Envisioning Peace, Performing Justice: Art, Activism, and Cultural Politics in the History of Peacemaking, will be held at Southern Illinois University Carbondale, October 24-26. The program and registration information will be posted on the PHS website once it is available.

5. Scott Bills Prize

The Peace History Society is now accepting nominations for the Scott Bills Memorial Prize. This prize is awarded bi-annually for an outstanding English-language work in the field of Peace History. The Prize will be awarded for an outstanding first book or an outstanding dissertation by a faculty member or independent scholar. The Prize carries a cash award of $500. Please submit nominations (a brief statement will suffice) and one copy of the book or dissertation directly to each member of the Bills Prize Committee by June 15, 2013.

Scott H. Bennett
333 Woodland Ave.
Haddonfield, NJ 08033

Wendy E. Chmielewski
Swarthmore College Peace Collection
500 College Avenue
Swarthmore, PA 19081

Larry Wittner
78 Kakely Street
Albany, NY 12208

For further information see:

6. DeBenedetti Prize

The next DeBenedetti Prize will be awarded for a journal article, book chapter, or introduction published during 2011 and 2012. Articles appearing in Peace & Change are automatically considered. Submissions close February 1, 2013. The prize committee, Dr. Melissa R. Klapper (committee chair), Dr. Marian Mollin, and Dr. Marc Becker, are now hard at work selecting a recipient. The DeBenedetti Prize winner will be officially announced during the 2013 PHS Conference.

7. The Lifetime Achievement Award

The Lifetime Achievement Award is presented to a PHS member who has contributed outstanding scholarship and exemplary service to peace history. Nominations for the 2013 award are due by July 1, 2013. Committee members are Dr. Ginger Williams, Dr. Robbie Lieberman, and Dr. Amy Schneidhorst. You can access the nomination form here:

8. The PHS Newsletter

Scott Bennett, Tim Smith, Ginger Williams, and Kevin Callahan are serving on an ad hoc committee to develop a position description for the PHS Newsletter editor and recruit an editor for a three year term starting in June of 2013. We will be sending out further information about the newsletter and editor position to the membership in early April.

I hope everyone has a great spring!

-- Christy


Dr. Christy J. Snider, Chair
Department of History
5010 Mt. Berry Station
Berry College
Mt. Berry, GA 30149

Questions or comments to the web editor.