Peace History Society

Officers and Board
 PHS Conferences
Peace and Change
Peace and Change blog
Elise M. Boulding Prize

DeBenedetti Prize

Scott Bills Memorial Prize

Lifetime Achievement Award

  Other Resources on the Web
Announcements of Conferences, etc. of Interest to Peace Historians

PHS Photograph Archive

PHS History

PHS Bylaws


2019 PHS awards

Deborah Buffton
Current PHS president Michael Clinton presents previous president Deborah Buffton award for outstanding service.
  • Lifetime Achievement Award presented to Wendy Chmielewski, George Cooley Curator, Swarthmore College Peace Collection.
  • The inaugural Elise M. Boulding Prize in Peace History for an outstanding English-language nonfiction book by a single author that has a substantial bearing on the field of peace history: Michael Kazin, War Against War: The American Fight for Peace, 1914-1918 (Simon & Schuster, 2017).
  • Charles Debenedetti Memorial Prize for the best article published in Peace History in 2015-2016 awarded to Barbara Keys, “The Telephone and Its Uses in 1980s U.S. Activism,” Journal of Interdisciplinary History (Spring 2018). Honorable Mention: Marian Mollin, “The Solidarity of Suffering: Gender, Cross-Cultural Contact, and the Foreign Mission Work of Sister Ita Ford,” Peace & Change (April 2017).
  • Scott Bills Memorial Prize First Book / Dissertation in Peace History published in 2016-2017 awarded to Nan Kim, Memory, Reconciliation, and Reunions in South Korea: Crossing the Divide (Rowman & Littlefield, 2016).
  • Deborah Buffton, for outstanding service as PHS president, 2017-2018.
  • Travel awards:
    • Lina Tuschling
Lina Tuschling
Current PHS president Michael Clinton presents Lina Tuschling with travel award.

More pictures from the awards ceremony are available on the PHS facebook page.
Questions or comments to the web editor.